• Thanushree Anil

What makes Arunachal Pradesh stand tall?

Bordered by the kingdom of Bhutan to the west, the Tibet Autonomous Region of China to the north, Myanmar (Burma) and the Indian state of Nagaland to the south and southeast, and the Indian state of Assam to the south and southwest, the most north-eastern state of India is otherwise known as Land of the rising sun. The capital being Itanagar.

The North-East Frontier Agency named by British Raj was renamed Arunachal Pradesh by Sri Bibhabasu Das Shastri, the Director of Research and K.A.A. Raja, the Chief Commissioner of Arunachal Pradesh on 20 January 1972, and it became a union territory. Arunachal Pradesh became a state on 20 February 1987.


Essence of history

Arunachal Pradesh marks its existence with the historical poems Mahabharata and Ramayana. The Karbi tribe traces their ancestors to Bali, Sugriva, and Tiwas to Devi Sita. The Mishmi tribe revert to King Bhismaka, the father of Rukmini. King Bhismaka, father in law of Lord Krishna has his palace situated near Sadiya now at ruins.

There are ancient inscriptions of Sanskrit, Assamese and Bengali found in the temples and forts of Arunachal Pradesh.

Legend says that in the eighth century Lord Parasurama washed off his sin of matricide by taking bath at Parashuram Kund in the Iohit district.

Excavation has unearthed temples and sculptures of Hindu Gods and Goddesses carved and decorated that paints a vivid picture of ancient marvels.

Tales of Malinithan are when Lord Krishna and his wife Rukmini were welcomed by Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati and Lord Krishna addressed the Goddess as ‘Malini’ and that she would be worshipped here. Henceforth the place became Malinithan; the abode of Malini.

Ruins of Malinithan

Arunachal Pradesh literally means the land of dawn-lit mountains in Sanskrit and no name could be more precise for breathtaking views when the sun touches atop of mountains.

The light touching the mountains
The light touching the mountains

The crisp leaves awaiting to be crushed, the air pleasant and breezy around you, the seven sisters offer the best sites for trekking. With its lush meadow and white glaciers, these spots are a must for anyone who loves mother nature.

  • Talley valley

  • Bailey Trail

  • Ziro Trek

  • Mechuka Trek

  • Gorichen Base camp trek

People, culture, heritage, and War

Populating an area of 83,743 square kilometers with 1,382,611 people, it accommodates predominantly Monpa people in the west, Tani people in the center, Tai people in the east, and Naga people in the south of the state.

Tani Women
Tani Women

Tani people traded swords and other metals to Tibetans in exchange for meat and wool in the ancient times and were referred to as the Lhobhas by the Tibetans. Apart from these groups, other Tibeto-Burman groups like Mishmis, Chutias, Nocte, Tangsa, and Wancho also occupied different regions of the state.

Flourishing in 500 B.C. and 600 A.D the northwestern parts were controlled by Monyul of the Monpa kingdom. Other parts of the states were in the control of Chutia Kings of Assam.

Giving the evidence for Buddhist tribal people in history, the 400-year-old heritage site Tawang Monastery stands tall in the extreme northwest of the state.

The sixth Dalai Lama Tsangyang Gyatso was born in Tawang

 Dalai Lama Tsangyang Gyatso
Dalai Lama Tsangyang Gyatso

McMahon Line was used at the border between British India and Outer Tibet which was 550 miles drawn by the British Administrator Sir Henry McMahon.

When India in 1947 became independent and the People’s Republic of China was established in 1949 poised to take over Tibet by force. India had supported Tibet at the time of war. The border disagreement leads to the Sino-Indian War in 1962 with China being victorious and India cutting off barter trade with Tibet.

Landscape, Flora, and Fauna

Arunachal Pradesh one among the seven sisters has its beauty painted till the sky. The Kangto is the highest peak in the stats. Dong and Vijaynaga, villages of the state are the ones to receive the first sunlight in the country. The mountain ranges of the states were named the Aruna Mountains in the historical texts which inspired the name.