Are you losing out on your life’s holistic purpose? Understand the 5 bright principles of Buddhism

By: Abhigyan Pandey

It is rightly said by the great Preacher, Buddha “What’s broken can be mended. What hurts can be healed. And no matter how dark it gets the sun is going to rise again.” Time and age wait for none.

Dedicating this article to mental health through the lens of Buddhism, you will explore 5 principles of Buddha which will help you find the path to get enlightened in life. Today, a lot of people stay under stress overthinking about their career and future. This pushes them into a bleak direction from where the fruitful world looks blurry. Now, the two questions which emerges is that

1)who pushes the youth of today under profound stress?

2)Who is responsible for aggravating suicide rates in the world?

3) is there a solution to profound strain in young minds?

Hopefully, Buddhism renders an answer to these questions. Following this philosophy can enlighten you in the true sense of the term. The great spiritual leader influences half of the continent of Asia lending an argument in favor of the indispensable power of Buddhism.

So, without any further delay, bring into your cognizance the world of Buddhism.

Buddha's Teaching
Buddha's Teaching

Affliction (Dukkha)

One of the paramount concepts of Buddha’s teaching is the inevitability of

sufferings and adversity. He believes that birth, old age, sickness, death, grief, lamentation, pain, depression, and agitation are dukkha. This First Noble Truth

represents Buddha’s view of ordinary life which may be filled with suffering,

sorrow, and pain.

However, it also connotes deeper philosophical meanings.

Including concepts such as emptiness, impermanence, imperfection,

insubstantiality and sub-consciousness, Buddhism has afflicted positivity in the lives of millions.

Buddha insight's about Human unhappiness
Buddha insight's about Human unhappiness

The Source of Suffering (Samudaya)

The ultimate source of suffering is ignorance. Buddha’s second Noble Truth

explains the origin and the arising of dukkha. It is this thirst for existence and

becoming, and thirst for non-existence (e.g., self-annihilation) which creates


Our greed, fixation, desire, greed, and craving manifest themselves in

various ways and give rise to all forms of sorrows in lives. He offers that our

sufferings need to be fully realized and understood from a holistic perspective. It is indispensable to embrace rather than try to run away from our fear, hatred, anguish,

loneliness and sadness.

The Four Noble Truths
The Four Noble Truths

Cessation of Suffering and Paths to Nirvana

Humans have a tendency to conform to what the society commands them to do while throwing morality to the wind. Let us check out what Buddha glints on this aspect of Human behaviour.

The last two noble truths provide specific suggestions for alleviation of human sufferings. According to Buddha, the Eight Paths offer treatment for diminishing adversities

and as a result, nirvana and the exalted state of enlightenment can be obtained.

First of all, we must start with a right view.

Wrong views such as the illusion of being self, extreme view, perverse view, stubborn view, perverted view and rigid views should all be eradicated to understand the real purpose of life. These five wrong views hinder our clear mind and impair our ability to see reality through filtered lenses. The other seven paths include right thinking, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right diligence, right mindfulness, and right concentration. Together,

the eight paths can be used to prevent sufferings from happening.

Furthermore, The Eight Paths can be integrated into three major clusters: wisdom,

precepts, and meditation. The wisdom paths include right view and right


They seek to be free from ignorance through using correct view and

wholesome thought (no craving, fixation, anger or ill-will). Precepts include

wholesome speech, which includes no lies, harsh words, or backbiting, and

wholesome actions or deeds.

These right actions are conducted through adhering to Sila (precept, morality). Finally, meditation covers areas such as correct endeavour, mindfulness and concentration (samadhi).

The Six Paramitas

Shares on self improvement
Shares on self improvement

With an intention to bring inner peace, let us take a glance how Buddhism is a win-win game for any individual who is craving for harmony and tranquillity.

The Mahayana Buddhist teachings of six paramita (perfection) as well offer valuable advice to improve oneself and reach the “shore of freedom, harmony and good relationship”. They include charity, precept, patience and forbearance, energy, meditation, and wisdom.

The first Paramita is the perfection of giving, charity, offering and

generosity (dana). By being generous and charitable, we do not reduce our

happiness but rather we gain something more intangible and valuable in return.

It is important to note that giving has to be related to non-attachment, that is, to not expect anything in return.

Food for Thought!

What matters the most is that when you take the last breath of your life, the train of thoughts and emotions should be one of elation and gleeful rather than regret for missing on the happiness and love for oneself in the entire life.

To know more about spirituality click on the links given below

#spirituality #lagom #hygge #Australia #Denmark #Canada



Phrazis helps you to explore your hidden love for space, providing you in-depth knowledge in the easiest means possible. Cling on to the website to learn space-related info every day.